How To Select Secondary School In Kenya

How To Select Secondary School In Kenya

In this article Keweb. co tries to answer the question by publishing the ways one can Select Secondary School in Kenya

Below are the most helpful ways to Select Secondary Schools in Kenya

All guardians and parents are expected to collaborate with school head teachers to assist learners in selecting appropriate schools for their junior secondary education.

All headteachers were required to guide learners during the first selection exercise, which ended on August 30, 2022.

The Kenya National Examination Council (KNEC) provided headteachers access to a portal with a list of all accredited junior secondary schools. The learners would then select from the available schools.

What junior secondary school choices are available for the learners?

The Ministry of Education requires that each learner chooses the following schools when selecting junior schools:

  • Two National junior schools
  • Two Regional junior schools
  • Two County junior schools
  • Four Sub- County level junior schools
  • Two private junior secondary schools

Please keep in mind that education costs for learners admitted to private junior secondary schools will be met by the parents who have agreed to their admission. After finishing junior secondary education, learners are expected to proceed to senior school. 

Junior Secondary education in Kenya is completed in three years under the competency-based curriculum (CBC) system. CBC is the country’s education system introduced in December 2017. Under the CBC system, each learner’s progress is monitored over a period of 2-6-3-3 years, evenly divided into three major levels of education: 

  • Early years education 
  • Middle school education 
  • Senior school, tertiary, and university education

Under the CBC system, Junior Secondary is part of middle school. Learners in middle school transit from upper primary to junior secondary after a national examination. Junior secondary education serves as a bridge between primary and secondary school for students aged 12 to 14 years. All junior secondary education activities are centred on age-appropriate education, student well-being and transition support for students.

You can click here to learn more about upper primary subjects, examinations and education in Kenya. There are core and optional (elective) subjects for students entering Grade seven, eight, and nine.  

All learners in Junior secondary level must take the core subjects. They are as follows:

  1. English
  2. Swahili or Kenyan Sign Language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Integrated Science
  5. Health Education
  6. Pre-Technical and Pre-Career Education
  7. Social Studies
  8. Religious Education: learners choose one of the following:      – Christian Religious Education – Islamic Religious Education  – Hindu Religious Education
  9. Business Studies
  10. Agriculture
  11. Life Skills
  12. Sports and Physical Education

All the learners starting junior secondary school must take at least one and no more than two optional subjects. The optional subjects are:

  1. Visual Arts
  2. Performing Arts
  3. Home Science
  4. Computer Science
  5. Foreign Languages (German, French, Mandarin/Chinese, or Arabic)
  6. Kenyan Sign Language
  7. Indigenous Languages

It should be noted that in Dadaab Refugee Camps, the schools will offer optional subjects based on available subject teachers and the school’s capacity. The majority of junior secondary level schools will provide computer science, Kenya Sign Language, Arabic, and performing arts. UNHCR, in collaboration with partner agencies in Kakuma and Dadaab provides free access to education (all learning and teaching materials) to all learners.